Hawksdomain’s Blog

Just a simple girl from Kansas

Playing with Lifestrea.ms

Posted by Paula on January 29, 2008

For those of you who may not have heard, Lifestrea.ms launched in private beta November 14, 2007.  The premise behind this site is simply brilliant!  A site that brings together all most some of the more popular social networking sites. (Many upgrades are in the works, and the site is still in private beta, so I should give ’em a bit of a break!) Thomas Huhn, the founder of Lifestrea.ms even realized that many of us may have different online identities and different social groups and we may never want any one group to know absolutely everything there is to know! 

From Lifestrea.ms:

To put it in prose: lifestrea.ms brings together all kinds of things that you and your social network create on the web in one place. There you decide who sees what. You can share and re-publish your contents and even add additional texts and media from your lifestrea.ms dashboard. To make sharing your life easier, lifestrea.ms breaks down your social life into seven of the most important parts: public, family, friends, local, professional, romantic and secret. You have one fully adjustable profile for each of your networks. The same way you share your life with others, your network contacts share their life with you. To keep you in the loop, you can even read your newsfeeds (’cause these are written by people you follow) and your emails (’cause these are people that contact you) from inside your dashboard. Staying on top of what’s going on has never been more effortless, so come and join today and start communicating with all your friends, family and colleagues in a new way.

As I mentioned, I think this is a wonderful idea for a site.  I have played with it some today (although I had been a member for over a month) and although it does seem to be a bit quirky and frustrating at times, I can confirm that it does at least allow you to Tweet rather than logging into Twitter to give an update.  OK, my most frustrating point was with the bookmarklet to add a new feed or bookmark.  There is no way I have found to change the feed or bookmark from private to public or partially public.  This issue has already been brought up in the feedback collection being made.

So now what?  Lifestrea.ms is in private beta and you wanna join?  Leave a comment or drop me an email and I will gladly invite you to join me on Lifestrea.ms!  🙂

13 Responses to “Playing with Lifestrea.ms”

  1. Edutirao said

    awesome idea!

    I’ll be glad if you send me the code

  2. mwd said

    If you still have some invites – I’ll be happy to adopt one. 🙂

  3. Mwd – I can’t get your email to work. 😦

  4. mwd said

    Yes, you can – it worked. 🙂 Thank you very much!

  5. YAY!! 😀 So glad it made it to ya! Welcome to Lifestrea.ms!!

  6. Joe Justin said

    I love the concept! I went and checked out the site but I need an invite code. Do you have the ability to invite folks? If so I would love to be able to sign up for this service. I will also be emailing them to see if that will work too. I also remember a social sites that has invite codes for almost anything you can think of. I even received an invite for Joost. I guess I will have to go look for that site as well.

    Best Regards,

    Joe Justin

  7. I just sent you the invite, Joe!! 🙂

  8. Sounds like a good idea, but I’ve seen similar, such as Streamy — which I really, really don’t like.

    So let’s hope Lifestrea.ms is nothing like Streamy…

  9. I’ll take an invite if you still have any.

  10. Daniel – you have been invited!

  11. […] Posts Playing with Lifestrea.msMahalo: A Social, Human Powered Search EngineVote in the Webware 100 Awards for […]

  12. Sarath said

    Hi,

    I would love an invite to lifestrea.ms. Thanks in advance.

  13. Absolutely, Sarath! Enjoy!! 🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.