Hawksdomain’s Blog

Just a simple girl from Kansas

Mahalo: A Social, Human Powered Search Engine

Posted by Paula on February 25, 2008

When I was first introduced to Mahalo, I must admit, I was not very … excited about this idea. A site where people recommend other websites. Yes, there is a protocol, not every site will be accepted. In fact, so far, I’ve had 4 sites declined by Mahalo. One was because I put it under ‘Surfing’ and I was thinking web surfing, not water surfing! If there are more ads than content, the site will not be accepted. If there is not a clear way to get a hold of the website owner, it will not be accepted. This is a search engine providing quality results. Sometimes, especially when writing that research paper, we only want the quality results. Sometimes, we don’t and we can continue on with Google or your favorite search engine.

A couple of months ago, Mahalo introduced Mahalo Follow. Although I did check it out when it first came out, I was not swayed to download it until about a month ago. Since downloading Mahalo Follow, I have found that it is simply something I cannot live without. You must know that it has to be good if a social junkie like myself is all excited about it!

When you find a page you would like to recommend to Mahalo, you simply click the Yes button on the tool bar and a screen will pop up for you to enter the search term that would be used to find such a page. Start typing and it will give you suggestions. Next you want to enter your tags separated by commas. Only drawback here, make sure you also keep them to one word tags or your del.icio.us bookmarks will become a mess! Enter a brief description or what you would like to use to share this link with everyone.

It is this next part that makes this tool bar the greatest tool bar ever! You then have the power to send this link and your brief description to up to 10 different social sites! The sites currently accessible are Twitter, Jaiku, Faves, Ma.gnolia, del.icio.us, Google Bookmarks, StumbleUpon, Facebook, Pownce, or your Tumblr blog.

Well, to get these links, I just signed up for Tumblr!  🙂  I tried Jaiku, but it still isn’t out of invites only.  I guess I didn’t realize what Tumblr was, because I had no idea it could take everything like this!  I’m looking forward to playing with this one, but that will have to be another day…

Hope everyone has a GREAT Monday!

4 Responses to “Mahalo: A Social, Human Powered Search Engine”

  1. seanpercival said

    Hawks,

    Mahalo for the great feedback, if you need an invite to jaiku just let me know! Send me your email address to seanp @ mahalo . com

    Thanks!
    Sean

  2. Sean!

    You are quite welcome!! Yes, that is one thing that I did find when I was grabbing the links for the post…. Mahalo is Hawaiian for Thank you!

    I just emailed you for the invite. Thank you so much for the offer!

    Have a GREAT Tuesday!

    Hawks 🙂

  3. Hey 🙂

    Glad to hear another person loves Mahalo like I do!
    I have not been working much online for these last few weeks, but plan on getting into Mahalo more now. Great article Hawksdomain.

    🙂

  4. You were the one who introduced me to Mahalo, so special thanx to you Kystorms! 🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
