Hawksdomain’s Blog

Just a simple girl from Kansas

Jaanix – A Closer Look

Posted by Paula on March 11, 2008

I’d like to start by thanking Joe Petviashvili for taking the time to explain his new website a bit deeper with me. To save Joe from having to repeat himself, I’ve decided to post what I have learned about his new website, jaanix, and share with you all what makes this new way of sharing the web superior to so many other sites out there.

Joe explained to me that he is trying to solve a problem that is not currently solved by other social bookmarking or social news sites. His goal is to combine methods currently being used to gather the news we see into one site. He believes that with a mathematical algorithm his site jaanix can be tuned into your needs. The algorithm looks at the levels of various topics you select and compares this with others who have similar tastes, sites they have added, ways they have voted. You may be thinking that this could be the same as checking out what your friends have done on Digg, but it is much deeper than what Digg or other sites currently offer.

Other social sites allow you to like a topic or not. Jaanix allows you to like a topic a little, quite a bit, or anything in between, your choices of topics are only limited by what you choose to submit to jaanix! The first stop when arriving at jaanix is on the right… you will find a variety of topics with sliders, or tuners (this is how you tune the web to your taste!). First thing I did was turned ‘off’ the topics that I have no interest in and turned the topics I like way up! Then, as you go through and vote on submissions and submit items you find yourself, the topics will adjust to fit your tastes, as will the websites shown.

One thing that I certainly want to stress about jaanix is that it is not a cliquish voting site, as I had originally thought. The voting is purely for your own personal benefit. By voting for sites that you genuinely like, or voting down for sites you do not like, you are teaching the site to know what you want to see more of in the future.

 

5 Responses to “Jaanix – A Closer Look”

  1. You nailed it. Everything you do on jaanix is for your personal benefit. You can participate as little as you want – just clicking on stories is enough for jaanix to give you something back, or you can give a bit more and gain more.

  2. lisa said

    wow, okay, so its time for me to go back and spend more time with this, thanks for clearing this up for folks like me who some times just dont have the time to play with a new program

    🙂

  3. Kim said

    This sounds like something very worthwhile. I like that the voting only serves to better define what you like as opposed to being a link/vote love kind of thing. I’ll definitely be checking this out. Thanks for the tip!

  4. @Joe – Thanx for helping me to better understand your site, if there is anything I can do for you or jaanix in the future, please let me know!

    @Lisa – This definitely showed me if I want to give a quick review of a site, I should wait and see what others say first! 🙂 But, I truly did enjoy getting to understand how jaanix works!

    @Kim – I totally agree! So many sites are about just voting with the group anymore, this site actually helps you to find more of what you really care about! Thank you so much for stopping by, hope to see you again soon!

  5. Tim said

    These have been interesting for me to read as well as the other jaanix information on jaanix.com itself. So thanks!

    For me at least, I started jaanix slow because it was new to me and all but frequent it more and more. Things I like are the tailoring of the sites behavior to a given user – and also the fact that it is a lean site…meaning the pages load fast – and lot’s of quantity per page load (say as opposed to digg.com) <- not knocking digg.com but pointing out a characteristic of jaanix.com that appeals to me a lot.

    So thanks Joe and hawksdomain

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
