Hawksdomain’s Blog

Just a simple girl from Kansas

Wanna FindLikeMinds?

Posted by Paula on April 2, 2008

I’m always looking for someone who is just as unusual as I am, so I was excited when I was asked to join a social site called FindLikeMinds started by a couple of guys, so I did. I played for a bit with it, even taking time between visits for any updates to the site to be made. I was excited to see the Zeitgeist page, but when you click a link, it tells you to click the Zeitgeist page first. So, it got me nowhere, I was thinking it would give me an option to add the same item to my list…. But, who knows what it was supposed to accomplish. I don’t see this being a terribly successful site because, at least how it is right now, you have to enter everything yourself. All of your influences, things you like, skills you have…. OH MY I have way too much and can’t think of half the stuff when I’m asked to make a list. Give me a list to choose from, with common items, yet with the opportunity to add more individualized answers, and yes, I would probably be the top user.

I want to apologize to Rob at FindLikeMinds for taking so long in writing this critique, but if he witnessed my discussion on jaanix, he would surely understand that I wanted to be sure about a few things before I was accused of completely missing the point of the site. So, Rob, if I did miss the point, please be kind in your comments, and I will be more than willing to help you work out some kinks to make it a more user friendly site! πŸ™‚

This site is still in beta, so just leave a request if you want an invite to check it out for yourself!Β  πŸ˜€

4 Responses to “Wanna FindLikeMinds?”

  1. kystorms said

    Well, i think it looks interesting, i will play with it if i can, do i need an invite?

    thanks for the write up, i would never see half these sites without this blog
    πŸ™‚

  2. Well, give it a try, or I will send you an invite later this evening, just in case. I have like 25 invites just in case it is invite only! πŸ™‚

    And I am so glad you like my blog…. I just love finding these little sites! πŸ˜€

  3. Rob said

    Hey Hawks!

    So we fixed the bug in Zeitgeist (thanks for the heads up!) and it now works the way it should by taking you to the profiles of the members with one of the top influences, skills or favourites. If you are logged in once you get to a particular influence you can simply add the influence to you own profile by clicking the ‘add to my profile’ button (also see http://blog.findlikeminds.com/2007/09/24/new-interactive-features/) and you can then add what you think/feel about the influence yourself. That’s one of the points of difference between FindLikeMinds and other social networks, knowing what you really think about something helps set us apart from the others.

    The site also has an auto-complete feature as well as buttons to add items. If you just start typing, and it’s something that’s been captured before, it’ll show up for you. I think another part of our difference is the experience of capturing your influences, the stuff that’s special and influenced you, not just picking from a list – however now you know it’s easy to select from the influences already on the site you can, as you say, then just add your ‘more individual answers’. I hope this helps and that you do become one of our top users!

    We know we’ve got a long way to go, we’ve got loads of new ideas and thoughts on how to make FindLikeMinds even better but for the moment we need to get more people on the site and using it, that’s what will show FindLikeMinds for what it really is. Then we can start matching people by their influences and start making recommendations for say a book, blog or website based on matching movies and songs – that’s when the true value of what we’ve created will be seen by our members.

    No worries on the timing by the way and thanks for the comments, they’re always welcome, please do keep them coming – we appreciate any help in working out the kinks!

    Please do stick with it on the site and capture a little bit more about what’s influenced you and why, once you get into it we hear it’s quite therapeutic!

    As for invites, you can send them to friends from inside the site but we’ve also opened up membership so now anyone can join via https://www.findlikeminds.com/SignUp/

    Thanks for the post, all the best, Rob

  4. Hiya Rob,

    Glad to hear that you are working out the kinks! I will stop by soon and check it out to see how it looks!

    Also glad to hear that you got the site open and now anyone can join!

    πŸ™‚

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
